I’m still alive!

What looms ahead

I am still here… just about. The last few months have been rather crazy, between handing off portfolios, attending interviews and suitability tests and having state exams at the beginning of next month there has been no time! Until now, in reality I should be studying but I can only learn off Bismarckian foreign policy so many times!
I feel like I’ve changed so much since I’ve last been here, I’m becoming obsessed with dancing, not in any professional sense, more of a seventies-ish strut through school corridors. Hopefully this is reflected in my newer creations, which are more attentive to this new side of my personality. And yes I have still been sewing, much more slowly and much less precisely than before. I have rediscovered my love of t-shirts (I have a feeling this will always happen to study-weary students) and I have a new, rather unhealthy, obsession with the seventies. Don’t worry I won’t be wearing flares, at least I hope not, although I have become allergic to my skinny jeans. I have a pair of Levis 501s and they are amazing, plus they make me wear fitted tops which I have far too much of an issue with doing.

In other news I’ve graduated, I’m no longer one of those annoying school kids with back-packs that are far too big (and too heavy, I swear I’m going to break my back before the year is out!) and school skirts that practically trail the floor. I’m now in this weird limbo where I still go to school but I’m an adult… I’ve been treated fairly equally all through the year but now it’s far more obvious. Another final, random note, do you know how weird it is to not wear uniform in school for the first time ever. For a child who has made her way through the fifteen year long education system in Ireland, it is immensely gratifying to never have to wear a uniform ever again! The only problem is what to wear in the mornings… and how to have anything that’s clean…I guess I’ll just have to make a new wardrobe this summer!

Leave a Reply

