Sugar and spice and all thing nice?

2014 Pentax K-5 11 072 I am not a big fan of sparkles or glitter, I had my “doll” phase, same as most little girls, but from the age of eight, anything “girly” has been a bit of a no-no for me. I was the kid who had their homework in first, who read books through the night and played with “boys” lego. I think those who love girly things, work it, but it’s just not my thing… until I saw this fabric.2014 Pentax K-5 11 053 Think back to about a year ago, my first time in Stockholm with fabric on my mind. I walk into this amazing shop (seriously this place is gold!) with a new interest in knits. It was perfect! There was also lots of amazing Scandinavian chic inspiring me at the time, so why not go a little riske and buy the sparkly knit… It’ll become something….someday…2014 Pentax K-5 11 097 Well today it has! I’ve always had an idea to make this attention seeking fabric into something, well, not so attention seeking. And so an unassuming long-sleeved top it became. But of course it couldn’t remain too simple, so I scooped the back, but not too low so that it is still suitable for everyday. The final result, I kind of love it! I didn’t expect the sparkle to grow on me so much, but since making it last Saturday morning, I’ve worn it about five times… true love in the making! I have about enough left to make a vest so a summer version shall be in the making!

3 comments

  1. nnonaihr · November 17, 2014

    This fabric is wonderful! The top looks very elegant 🙂

    • bluesewncat · November 21, 2014

      Thanks, the way the sparkles catch the sunshine is rather spectacular!

  2. Pingback: Me-made Fashion Week | bluesewncat

Leave a Reply

