The perfect pair

2014 Pentax K-5 11 Sweden Summer 1747 In summer I have my basic remedy of a simple A-line top with some form of denim bottoms, I discussed colours and tones before in this post. However nearly three months later I had yet to completely rectify the problem, that problem being my lack of decent shorts. Yes I have the usual suspects, such my denim simple cut-offs and a rolled up bleached pair too, however when heading into town or into a reasonably classy establishment I needed to up my game, the surprisingly warm Irish summer was yet another incentive. And thus these shorts were made. 2014 Pentax K-5 11 Sweden Summer 1758 The shorts are made with a very heavy denim that was a purchase in Sweden. Made from a pattern from my early pattern drafting days, I simply folded down the humongous pleats that had simply not worked in previous versions (those versions being so unsuccessful that they never made it to this blog) to create a much more flattering shape. There is still a ton of flare at the sides but I kind of like the silhouette. I’m so used to stream-lined bottoms that having something that forces me wear more fitted tops is a good thing. Not to mention it actually balances out my shoulders as well.2014 Pentax K-5 11 Sweden Summer 1762 The shorts also made up quite quickly. Having decided that I needed wanted a new pair on Saturday night, I had them finished by Sunday, mid-day, hems and buttons complete! The buttons here also make me quite happy as they are a purchase from my trip to Paris in Easter. The vaguely art deco look and turquoise colour make these shorts that bit more fun, and it also means that I can cut down on my ever increasing stash.2014 Pentax K-5 11 Sweden Summer 1750

And last but not least I’ll tell you about where this set of photos were taken. This summer we decided to head to the south of Sweden around Karlskrona and then onto Copenhagen through Skåne. While driving through Skåne we happened upon this beautiful sandy beach, filled with soft white sand dunes that could heat your feet in an instant!
I have one last set such as these to show and also a bunch more photo’s from Sweden. Be back soon!

Leave a Reply

