Summer Skirt Plans

Summer skirt ispiration
I hinted from my previous post that I would do a little skirt planning piece. My main problem is that a lot of my old skirts have become quite short, or a bit too loose, or are simply too gathered and girly for me now, so I’ve formed a solution! Since I was quite stingy with my fabric in the beginning, most of my hems are far too short to take down so a whole new skirt project is underway!

The plan is to make at least three skirts to be included in my day-to-day wardrobe, skirts that will be functional with a fun edge.

Skirt 1: The biker chick

WL133D-5-1

This lovely skirt is from All Saints, I love the fit, the biker style seams and styles and the leather looks stunning. Only problem is the over €250 price tag. So I plan to make my own, modified version. I’m still finalising the design, but I’ve seen several different versions, that I’ll combine the best bit’s of. I also have this stunning pleather that I got at Murphey Sheehy’s! This probably won’t be made for a while as I’ve never worked with pleather before, it’s also the type of thing that’ll take a while to finalize and draft. I’m also gonna have to look out for cool zips and studs to finish it off, as well as figure how I can make it have a slightly more worn feel. I’m hoping to wear this with washed t-shirts, hand knit tank tops, silk shirts and possibly a new handmade denim jacket (I have some lilac coloured stuff from my nana)!

Skirt 2: The Denim Obsession

c8279a623328b1890fa362bf54a76b15

You may remember the denim skirt I made 2 years ago, I still have it, and love it, but it’s the only denim skirt I own, and considering the amount of wear it gets, it’s time to rectify this! I have some dark denim with a little bit of stretch, that’ll have a similar shape to the picture on the right, I’m going to try and find some proper denim pieces, such as the studs that go at the pocket’s sides and the metal button at the from, I’m even going to do a front fly, something I’ve only tried once! To get an even more denim/ jean look I’ve going to use contrasting top-stitching thread. It should take no time to draft up, and I already have my basic design down, but actually making it will probably take some time. I’m planning on using some soft calico for pockets to get a “true” jeans feel. This’ll be another look for t-shirts and I think I’ll be wearing this with this jacket, my converse and a lazy smile all through summer, the only thing I’ll need will be the sun!

Skirt 3: The floaty Maxi

34d2349f61326748498a714e12d475dc I know that this image makes the skirt look like a winter piece, but I’m thinking of a slightly flowy, very long swishy skirt. Possibly in some kind of floral, but it will more likely be made from some interperative print. I really want to make something that I’ve never tried or owned before, obviously there will be a crazy number of muslins to make sure I’m happy with it. My main problem with long skirts is that my old school skirts made me look like a nun. This is why I always shy away from anything over my knees. Now though I’ve decided to change, I like the idea of a long, possibly slightly transparent (with a slip of course) skirt to slowly stroll around the greenery of parks. I’m hoping to make it in a fairly light fabric so I can actually wear it in summer without getting too warm. At the moment I only really have an idea of the final look, but I really love that look. My next step is to do some sketches and figure out a final design, then I just have to draft and find fabric. I’m thinking it’ll look good with loose tank tops, “barely there” sandals and a hand printed tote.

There are my skirt plans! Do you have any sewing plans for summer, or winter, or encountered any problems with having a long-term hand-made wardrobe?

P.s. the illustration on the first pic is by me, I’ve been trying a new style, what do you think?

2 comments

  1. Etemi · March 9, 2014

    This is such a good idea! I’ve been trying to find the right style for trousers for ages, but now I’m inspired to take the next step forward and get the ideas on paper! That denim skirt is an absolute favourite. I have never sewn with denim (apart from hemming jeans for others…) and can’t wait to see your finished skirt, so may I suggest you start with that one? 😉
    PS: The illustration looks great!

    • bluesewncat · March 9, 2014

      Thanks! I was about to start that one tomorrow, I even thinking of two, one light, one dark, one new and one shredded! And thanks for the illustration compliment too!

Leave a Reply

