Fairy dust fabric

2014 Pentax K-5 11 093
I’ve started reaching the problems of a long-term sewing addiction. One such problem is skirts, when you have either that one pattern that fits like a dream, or some blocks for pattern drafting, all other skirts pale in comparison. You’ll always be thinking, if the pocket could be a bit lower, if I could take in the dart, or simply change the length a bit. But now my problem is me. As my first skirt frenzy was two years ago now (seems yesterday) all of my skirts have dramatically decreased in length. Most of my skirts were a fairly modest length, a little above the knees, but now they’re all hallway up the thigh (and that’s the good ones!) So I’ve started a new skirt scheme. I’ll do a little post and what I hope to create as my skirt situation is getting embarrassing!
2014 Pentax K-5 11 061
The first installment was my wrap skirt, a huge success that gets worn weekly. My only problem with it is the itch of the wool. It was time for the updated version! You may remember the wool from  this jacket, the other most worn item in my wardrobe. I figured this fabric had some kind of magical, wearable fairy dust, so whatever skirt I made would be worn to pieces!
2014 Pentax K-5 11 054
I decided to play it safe with a simple mini skirt. All of my skirts are high-waisted so I did a lower rise as well. I also added nice big pockets, with stripy linings! There’s a metal zip in the back, and a shaped waistband as well.
2014 Pentax K-5 11 035

2014 Pentax K-5 11 078
I’ll be back with some photos from Sweden, I took nearly 1,000 pictures, so editing them down to even 50 is hard, let alone 10 or 20! I also have exciting new fashion related plans to share soon as well!

3 comments

  1. gingermakes · March 7, 2014

    Love this skirt! It’s way cute!

    • bluesewncat · March 8, 2014

      Thanks, it’s been getting nearly too much wear!

  2. Pingback: Summer Skirt Plans | bluesewncat

Leave a Reply

