A different kind of love

2014 Pentax K-5 11 044
Let me tell my least favourite thing about Irish weather, the wind. The rain isn’t so great but what you need to look out for is the wind. Particularly in winter we have this little thing called “wind chill factor”. So if you ever here an Irish weather report and they say it’s ten degrees plus wind chill factor, it’s actually more like six, closer to four if your near the sea.

So why am I ranting about Irish weather, again. Well cause last winter it hit me hard. Most of my scarves seemed too short to cover my face, and none of my cowls were tight enough to keep my nose its original colour, so I came out with a plan of campaign. First I showed you this cowl, tight enough and long enough to be super warm. This was it’s predecessor. This time last year I picked up a new skill, machine knitting, I was even able to get some lessons so that I could know the basics. I pondered what to make, I loved the idea of a boxy sweater but knew it would be a little too hard, so I made the easiest thing possible, a scarf! And I’m in love. The yarn is merino wool from yeoman yarns and it’s so soft and snuggly. It’s also quite nice on your wallet too. 500 yards for €20. For this scarf I cast on around 80 stitches and then knit a thousand rows. Yep a thousand, a feat considered impossible with hand knit due to the thinness of the yarn. I blocked it for a day and have been wearing it ever since.

The scarf’s first outing was last march when we travelled to London. It was amazing, you could wrap it once to be chic, twice to be warm, and three times to be cosy. When I say I’ve been wearing this non-stop, I mean it, I’ve barley touched my other scarves this winter due to the supremacy of this one… In fact I’m almost tempted to saunter around the house while wearing it just for fun…

2014 Pentax K-5 11 034

One comment

  1. Pingback: Me-made Fashion Week | bluesewncat

Leave a Reply

