Purple is king!

2014 Pentax K-5 11 305

Ta-da! Do you ever has those times where you just want to be a kid. To run around and plait your hair and wear as many sparkles as possible. Well this morning I had that feeling.

2014 Pentax K-5 11 049

I was lazily looking through my wardrobe as for what to wear when I spotted this skirt. An old Parisian relic that hasn’t been touched in years. My hand then clobbered through the mountain of doom that is my t-shirt pile to save this top. An old-ish make.

2014 Pentax K-5 11 097

This was my first ever knit top, and the reason I havn’t worn it is because it was a bit of a failure, or at least it was in my eyes. The basic pattern was drafted wrong and I had to take huge amounts out of the shoulder. The tops only saviour was the fabric. A gorgeously soft cotton whose touch and colour always makes me smile.

2014 Pentax K-5 11 157

So why the change of heart.. After pairing the skirt and top together I got vivid flashbacks of my six-year-old self, who would have deeply approved of this look. It was the age when pink was old and purple was king! Turning myself into a more stylish six-year-old I hunted for old bracelets and earrings to turn myself into this new persona. Finding old Astrix comics and badges (I loved badges!) With my look deemed complete I headed out, equipped with a camera and tripod and my natural three-year old smile!

2014 Pentax K-5 11 234

Let me tell you, pretending to be a kid is seriously fun! Not the whining moaning one, but the kid who isn’ self-concious in any way, who acts how they want, when they want. Where life is this huge adventure that you can’t even begin to comprehend. A fun morning? Lets just say I got so into character I took over 340 shots!

2014 Pentax K-5 11 347

And a final shout out to this little dragon-fly, possibly my most favourite thing as a little girl. I wouldn’t even really wear it, just carry it around my room, and inspect it in my hands. I find it only mildly cute that I choose this piece of nostalgia to end this post… Till next time, I hope you all give a little thought to your own six-year-old selves this week too!

Leave a Reply

