Lined Mittens

DSC_0094New mittens! Or rather new photos of mittens. These were made back in February and got a lot of wear (hence why there are photos only now!) I was originally inspired to knit these when I did work experience in this is knit,  (I also got a mention on their blog) I was working with this lady (her makes are stunning, seriously check it out, even more beautiful in real life!)  and she showed me these stunning lined gloves she’d made for a friend. At the same time I was looking through my stash when I saw this handmade Swedish wool I’d gotten last summer. The weight and ply was perfect. So as to make not not the exact same I added in some stripes in a different colour of the same wool.  I lined them in a malebrigo sock yarn that went on sale (none left in the shop I’m afraid).

DSC_0085I used my mom as my model today. She’s also a really good knitter and thinking of starting a blog too! I didn’t use a pattern for these mittens. I made them based on my swatches. I used size 3 mm DPN needles for the outside and size 2mm DPN needles for the lining. The basic idea of the gloves is really simple. You cast on the amount of stitches your swatch suggests, then knits into the front and back of every stitch or so, then transfer the newly created stitches onto a circular needle. Leave these stitchs on the circular needles, knit the outside, then knit the lining as you knit the outside, baring in mind that when you finish the inside is sealed off. Sorry for the terrible description, the pattern I used is similair to this one.

DSC_0090A view of the snuggly soft lining. Best decision ever to make these. Since it was so cold every where in Europe till April (snow storm in London on 4th April) these were well worth the weight. I imagine these will get lots of wear next winter too, and it’s Ireland so I’ll probably start using them again next September!

Me-made-May update will be soon, I’m putting together the photos so the post should be soon!

One comment

  1. Pingback: Me-made Fashion Week | bluesewncat

Leave a Reply

