A gift

DSC_0321It’s that time of the year again. When all the bloggers either slowly make their way off the internet or are, posting far more reguarly. Can you guess which one I am? I have been really busy since I last did a post. I ended saying that I had a week of internship at John Rocha. The week was amazing, I got to work on actual pieces for the boys 2014 summer collection for debenhams. I also got to meet John Rocha himself and I got to see his daughter and wife. The main person who gave me work for the week even said he might want me back for summer! I was head-over-heels for the entire week. Even though I had a few coffee runs and managed to mess one up I would be so excited to go there again. In case your wondering who John Rocha is here is his website.

DSC_0324Back to the gift. I have been so busy the last week that I nearly forgot about my friends birthday party on Saturday. She had asked me if I could make her a bright coloured case for her ipod because the screen is kinda falling apart and she keeps losing it in her bag. So I made her this. I have actually used the fabric before in a summer dress but I don’t have any photos up because by the time I could take photos it was way too cold, it’s a lightweight linen-cotton blend I think. I re-inforced the linen with stayflex and also put in some wading. I also lined it with a soft plaid fabric which I also used for this.

Iron the interfacing onto the onto the outer fabric, then sew the outer pieces with the wadding together, making sure the outer fabric pieces are facing each other and the wadding is facing you. Once you’ve sewn the seam turn the piece inside out so that the outer fabric is facing you and the wading is inside.

Next, sew the lining pieces together, right sides facing each other. When you have that done leave the piece as is and put it into the outer piece with the wading. Stuff it in so that the seams are facing each other.

Lastly line up the top seams and sew them together using either bias-binding or ribbon. Then iron and you have a new case.

Sorry if the instructions are a little hard to understand but I didn’t take any photos while making it. If you do have any questions just leave a comment and I’ll get back to you.

If I don’t post before christmas I wish you all a very mery christmas! If your looking for a cool decoration look no further then Jen’s narwhale plushie, or if your a knitter and you want a last minute gift, check out Andi’s gorgeous free patterns.

Leave a Reply

