Curved hem tutorial

As seen in my last post, here is my tutorial for making a curved hem.

You need: Top pattern pieces, tracing paper( grease proof paper works too), tape measure, french curve, pencil and paper weights of some type, I used coins( not nessecary but helpful)

This step isn’t necessary but it gives the top a good drape if you’re using a fairley lightweight fabric like silk or lightweight cotton.

Word of advice that I soon realised, the top looks much more flattering when the top piece has  a shorter less curved hem then the back piece.

Just a note to say that for the back a lengthened more curved hem works better.Thats it!

There are more pics and info in this post. Hope you like it, send me pics if anyone uses it.

3 comments

  1. Anna Dorthea Aasbjerg · October 7, 2012

    OMG! I’ve been looking for a french curve for ages. Do you of a place that sells them and would ship to Denmark?

    • bluesewncat · October 10, 2012

      I’m afraid I don’t, there might be Panduro Hobby, in Sweden (I don’t know if they’re in other countries) but I don’t know if they sell them. I’m probobly not the best person to ask. If your really stuck I would think that German craft companies should ship to Denmark as your neighbous.
      I found this page (see below) http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/sewingclasses/board.pl?t=23249
      I hop it’s useful! Good luck in finding your curve!

  2. Pingback: Resolutions « bluesewncat

Leave a Reply

