My maroon coloured skirt!

Sorry about not posting anything in a while but life has been busy! I’m about to finish a cute shirt dress so that will be up soon and I also finished a jumper a week ago so that will be up too!

Don’t you love how the nail varnish matches the colour of the skirt! Unfortunately both materials came from San Francisco ( one from a fabric discount store in the mission district and other was a kimono remnant from a little kimono shop in a supermarket area of Japan town) so no more of those materials will be coming 😦

The maroon is a lightish weight wool. It’s very nice to work with. My sewing machine is quite tempermental! One time I tried to sew chiffon (which is difficult enough already) with it, it didn’t work and the chiffon is still looming at me with my failure! The kimono remnant is also very nice to sew with as it has a good weight, it also makes the perfect band for this skirt! The lining (although not shown in any pics) is a marbled effect cotton print. I made an own design with it a year ago and have been trying to get rid of it ever since!

Down to the pattern! For this skirt I was lucky enough to have the vogue pattern V1247 (which also comes with a very cute and flattering top). It’s beautifully put together. I could not recommend this pattern more, especially if your at that stage where you want a bit more work but it’s still in your comfort zone.

Well, that’s about it, I hope you all enjoy your Wednesdays!

P.S. I’ll be back soon with a tartan shirt dress!

Leave a Reply

