Dip-dyed lace

DSC_0118You know in my other post, I mentioned dying some fabric, including the linen used to make the top, well the dying bug got me! Hard! I also mentioned that I had a birthday lunch with my friends called ‘Day in a Dress’ where everyone had to wear a dress or skirt, well when one such person has hosted an event such as this, and can sew…. what better excuse to make a dress!

DSC_0117I’ve had an idea for this dress for a while now. The fabric is a broidery anglaise that I got two years ago in Australia. The only thing is that I didn’t want a super cutesy dress that would never get worn. I thought about how I could eradicate this, step one add super cool racer back style armholes with a sporty high neck, and step two add a cup of blue dye, and hey presto you have my dress! I’ve been meaning to try the ombre dying effect for a while and felt now was the right time. The dress in itself was super easy to make and draft since it was based on this dress. The main modifications were bringing in the side seams since I made the armholes much bigger.

DSC_0113Since the embroidery anglaise is so thick when two layers are put together I used plain white cotton bias binding (so it would dye with the fabric and not stand out). I then finished the inside with french seams and hand stitched down the hem and the bias binding. It was a really nice, relatively quick make. I probably won’t make another one the same as this but something similar may be looming in the distance…

DSC_0124Sorry about the photo overload but there was SUN! This dress is made for the sun, it doesn’t even have a lining so it can be doubled up a beach cover-up. I’m really happy with the finished dress, even my friends were all surprised when I said I’d made it. It even looks nice with a little denim jacket over it, which in Ireland is a virtue!

DSC_0102My “model shot” for the dress and how I will most likely be looking for the most of summer (weather prevailing!)

I have started my jacket at my course and it looks gorgeous! I’m in love with the fabric and style, it’s a little more fitted then my usual but that makes me love it more, it should be finished for the end of week! EEK the excitement of a new jacket!

 

 

 

4 comments
  1. Kathryn said:

    This is lovely! I really like the effect you’ve achieved with the dyeing. Along with Morgan over at Crab & Bee you’ve inspired me to give dyeing a go. I’ll wait till after I move house next month though.

    • It’s much easier then you think, you just have to be prepared for an unexpected result, good luck and good idea about waiting!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

